Presidential Search Committee

Presidential Search Home

The state Board of Regents has named 21 members to the search committee for Southern Utah University’s 16th president:

Board of Regents

  • Mark Stoddard, Search Committee Chair
  • Jed Pitcher, Regent
  • Bob Prince, Regent
  • Nina Barnes, Regent

SUU Board of Trustees

  • Eric Leavitt, Trustee Chair Elect & Search Committee Vice Chair
  • Jim Johnson, Vice Chair
  • Mark Russell, SUU Alumni Association President/Executive Committee Member
  • Jeff Hertig, 2013 SUU Student Association President

SUU Administration, Faculty, & Staff

  • David Tanner, Vice President, Facilities Management & Planning
  • Robert Eves, Dean, College of Science & Engineering 
  • Shauna Mendini, Dean, College of Performing & Visual Arts
  • Julie Taylor, Faculty Senate President / Associate Professor of Physical Education
  • Patricia Keehley, Associate Professor of Political Science/Dir, MPA Program
  • Julie Larmore, Staff Association President/ Director, Facilities Business Ops & Strat Resource Planning

Community/Alumni Representatives

  • Alma Adams, Iron County Commissioner
  • Ann Crocker, Shakespeare Board
  • Gayle Pollock, Former SUU Trustee Chair
  • John Yardley, Rural Community (Garfield) former Trustee Chair
  • Sunny Reinhold, Chair, National Advisory Board
  • Eric Schmutz, President, State Bank of Southern Utah
  • Marilee Stowell, Community Representative

The Presidential Search Committee is appointed by the Chair of the Board of Regents and is charged to:

  • Host constituent meetings to seek public input regarding the qualifications of ideal candidates and to explain the search process
  • Compile an appropriately talented, credentialed, and diverse candidate pool
  • Screen applications, interview, and recommend qualified candidates from the candidate pool to the Board of Regents for consideration.

Presidential Search Home